Mystery Tobacco Review: August 2021

Welcome back to another episode of the Mystery Tobacco Review! This month, Shane, Truett, and I return to our tiny boxes on your screen to review yet another mystery blend, this time chosen by a brand new Inquisitor. Sam Bowden, one of our knowledgeable Customer Service representatives, served as our Inquisitor this month, selecting one unknown mixture for us to review in a blind taste test. Tune in as we smoke through a bowl of Sam's chosen mixture and attempt to guess its components, manufacturer, and name. Did we get it right? Or did Sam stump us with more than beginner's luck? Watch the full video above to find out, and never forget: The best reviews are mysteries (This catch phrase is catching on, right?)

Did you enjoy this month's Mystery Tobacco Review? Were you able to guess the blend? Leave us a comment below with your thoughts.

What is The Mystery Tobacco Review?

For those of you unfamiliar with this little game, each month one member of our team selects a tobacco for us to review in a blind taste-test. Then we gather around the camera, scratch our heads, and smoke, all while attempting to guess the mysterious mixture's components, origins, and name. There's only one rule: There are no rules.

Category:   Tobacco Talk
Tagged in:   Mystery Tobacco Reviews Tobacco Video

Comments

    • Samuel B. on August 18, 2021
    • Thanks for having me on as the inquisitor this month! I had a lot of fun selecting the blend and it looks like you had fun sampling it too. Also, I color coded your plastic bags with sticky notes as a tongue-in-cheek hint. The fact this was left unnoticed leaves the trickster in me delighted.

    • Dan on August 19, 2021
    • Capstan Green, sounds like a winner! And yes, the best reviews are mysteries.

    • Mountain Guerilla on August 21, 2021
    • Well done all around gents. As you've proven time and again, context plays a big role in things like this. A 4 way tie for the win! I can't wait to see what Sam has up his sleeve for his next stint as inquisitor. Thanks all.

    • A MAC on August 22, 2021
    • Excellent Mystery Tobacco Review! Mr. Bowden's cleverness, resulting in a four-way tie. Congratulationsto all.

    • Paulo E. Engel on August 22, 2021
    • I am living in São Paulo - Brasil and need to know why you can not ship pipe tobacco to me.

    • Jerry on August 22, 2021
    • Thanks for another great review. I have learned a lot about different blends from the Mystery Reviews and reviewers. Your description of Capstan Blue and Yellow is spot on to my experience with both. I will now try Capstan Green. You guys are always so pleasant and easy to watch. Keep up the good work. Look forward to September.

    • D. on August 23, 2021
    • Good show, guys. To touch on the subject of detecting the room note, I stumbled upon a technique that works well for me. At one time, after doing my charring light and I got my pipe going, I sat my pipe down and had to leave the room momentarily. I guess that gave my olfactory receptors time to clear and when I reentered the room it was like walking in on someone else smoking a pipe. I was able to get a real good sense of the room note. Maybe one day I will advance and evolve in my pipe smoking career to the point where I can detect the room note as good without having to step out, Lol.

Join the conversation:


This will not be shared with anyone

challenge image
Enter the circled word below: