Mystery Tobacco Review: March 2021

Welcome back to another episode of the Mystery Tobacco Review! While our blind taste-testing series failed to win any Golden Globe awards this year, we were honored to host our very own celebrity Inquisitor for this month's review: Former Smokingpipes employee, host of the Pipes Magazine Radio Show, and die-hard Disney aficionado, Mr. Brian Levine, Dr. of Pipes.

Tune in as Shane, Truett, and I smoke through a bowl of Brian's chosen mixture, and attempt to guess its components, manufacturer, and name. Did we guess it right? Or did Brian's reputation as a mad tobacco scientist leave us stumped? Watch the full video to find out.

Did you enjoy this month's Mystery Tobacco Review? Were you able to guess the blend? Leave us a comment below with your thoughts.

What is The Mystery Tobacco Review?

For those of you unfamiliar with this little game, each month one member of our team selects a tobacco for us to review in a blind taste-test. Then we gather around the camera, scratch our heads, and smoke, all while attempting to guess the mysterious mixture's components, origins, and name. There's only one rule: There are no rules.

Category:   Tobacco Talk
Tagged in:   Mystery Tobacco Reviews Tobacco Video

Comments

    • Oom Howard on March 28, 2021
    • Rule #1: There are no rules ... more DIY blends

    • D. on March 28, 2021
    • Rule #2: Refer to rule #1.

    • Shane Ireland on March 29, 2021
    • @Oom Howard @D. There are no rules!And I do love it when "I'm pretty sure this doesn't exist" is as close as we can get. DIY or modified blends are the purest form of blindly reviewing! I was certain that I tasted DFKY on the cold draw and in the smoke, but it was just high percentage of Perique playing tricks on me.

    • D. on March 29, 2021
    • Yeah, that perique seems pretty tricky. I always enjoy watching and learning something new. Always a pleasure.

    • Mountain Guerilla on March 31, 2021
    • You the man Shane!! I like your style. Very knowledgeable and humble. All you guys are great. Keep these reviews coming. To Andy's point about not having access to these blends: I agree. Use these videos to learn and build your knowledge. Thanks guys.

    • Dan on April 1, 2021
    • I know that some people didn't care for Mac Baren's HH Rustica flake, I like it. Sometimes I like to take 2 flakes of Rustica and 1 flake of Solani Virginia Flake and either fold and stuff them together or rub them out together. I find that the Solani adds just the right amount of sweetness (for me). I enjoy smoking it at a slow pace. I don't know if that would be considered a DIY blend, but I like it.

    • Matthew M on April 24, 2021
    • Guys,Please do not give into the viewers who only want you to review the blends that are commercially available. Listening to you three work through the qualities that you find in the tobaccos is really instructive, even if I cannot find exactly what you are smoking. That kind of conversation tells me something about what I might want to try to taste when I encounter a new tobacco, no matter what it is. I like what you did, though, in the discussion of commercially available blends that might echo some of the qualities that you found in the "mix and match and 'toss into the blender to add confusion' blend" that you were given this time. (Good times, though, don't get me wrong. I really enjoyed watching you three talk through what you were tasting.)Shane, you mentioned that smokingpipes.com caries blending components. Do you have (or can you recommend) a list of unblended tobaccos that could allow a newbie smoker to develop a sense of what each ingredient can do in a blend? I see that Sutliff has a list, and that pipesmagazine.com has some pages on the topic. Where would you start? What would you start with?I'll throw this open to all three of you: if you were getting started in trying to learn what each component tobacco tastes, smells, and looks like, how would you go about it? (I mean, aside from smoking a lot: that's a given. I am not looking for short-cuts, just a course of study.)

    • Thuroczy on July 4, 2021
    • Irish Oak is very good tobacco. I Love It. Bohužial na Slovensku ho nedostať. Dakedy bol a momentálne sa tabaky z trhu vytrácajú.

Join the conversation:


This will not be shared with anyone

challenge image
Enter the circled word below: