Mystery Tobacco Review: September 2021

Welcome back to another episode of the Mystery Tobacco Review! For this month's review, we were honored to have our Writer and Editor Chuck Stanion serve as our Inquisitor, selecting one blend for us to review in a blind taste test. Chuck was the Editor of Pipes & tobaccos magazine for over 20 years before joining us at Smokingpipes, and if you've read any of his articles on the site, it's clear that this man knows his stuff. While he prefers Virginia/Perique blends, his cellar is vast and eclectic, so we knew he had something special in store for us. Tune in as Shane, Truett, and I smoke a bowl of Chuck's chosen mixture and attempt to guess its components, country of origin, manufacturer, and name. Did we guess it right? Or did Chuck leave us questioning the accuracy of our so-called discerning palates? Watch the full video to find out.

Did you enjoy this month's Mystery Tobacco Review? Were you able to guess the blend? Leave us a comment below with your thoughts.

What is The Mystery Tobacco Review?

For those of you unfamiliar with this little game, each month one member of our team selects a tobacco for us to review in a blind taste-test. Then we gather around the camera, scratch our heads, and smoke, all while attempting to guess the mysterious mixture's components, origins, and name. There's only one rule: There are no rules.

Category:   Tobacco Talk
Tagged in:   Mystery Tobacco Reviews Tobacco Video

Comments

    • LV on September 15, 2021
    • Nice gentlemen. Separate reviews of the same blend: I sure vote for that. Congratulations to You and CStanion for the input. I can only dream of tasting that kind of mixtures and brands. Not to mention a two decades old one. Cheers!

    • Dan on September 15, 2021
    • Great show, guys. Chuck as a full time inquisitor sounds very beneficial, ha! I liked the brain storming at the end, left me smiling again. Thank you all.

    • Storm Crow on September 15, 2021
    • Excellent smoke session gents. I'm coveting that Kurt Balleby pipe Shane, and your dog too. Looking forward to October's Mystery Tobacco Review. Chuck doesn't look like he's aged a day since the reading of the night before Christmas, I suspect that he may be in possession of the One Ring...

    • Thomas on September 17, 2021
    • Yeah, I'm number 2,300 in line to receive an email notification for a 8oz. bag of Dorchester and 2,123 for a 2oz. tin. Crazy how Truett and Shane dialed in on the house of this blend, I guess the cut and Shane's experience with smoking two decades plus were big clues. Not to mention Truett smoking his stash last year. Very entertaining and good to see Chuck, in what appears to be good health, on the show. The best reviews ARE mysteries. Remember what the Dormouse/Dorchester said: "Feed your head, feed your head, feed your head..." White Rabbit-Jefferson Airplane

    • Terry Radwan on September 19, 2021
    • Great job on a tough tough tobacco to pin down guys!. I am lucky enough to have jars of both Dunbar and Dorchester in my semi regular "special occasion" tobacco rotation, and only the only real difference I notice is that Dorchester has a light citrus topping although I don't imaging any of that came through after 20 years. Jealous that you have enough for a contemplative follow up smoke, enjoy the bonus and keep up the good work!

    • Jim Mills on September 20, 2021
    • Very enjoyable review. Thanks to Chuck for offering such a well-aged tobacco! I too, agree, a separate panel review with a blind inquisitor as well, would be very amusing...Lastly, do any of you have the address of Chuck‚Äôs tobacco cellar?Thanks again!

    • Thomas on September 21, 2021
    • Now, if only we could get the mad scientist, genius, tobacco warlock, and creator of supernatural and paranormal blends to create a version of aged Dorchester. Wouldn't that be somethin'...

Join the conversation:


This will not be shared with anyone

challenge image
Enter the circled word below: